Time Is Not On My Side…

Posted: March 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

So, I’m back. Kinda. 

Life threw ol’ Rod a couple curveballs in recent weeks and though I could be a wuss and complain about how I’ve been beset by a series of unfortunate events, I won’t.

I will, however, briefly describe them.

1. Family illness – Apparently my mother is not an inhuman she-devil destined to live forever. In fact, as the last few weeks have proven, she is quite human and just as susceptible to cardiac disease as the rest of us.

2. Family mental breakdown: I’m being a bit flippant here but Mom’s extended hospital stay and subsequent dance with death served as the proverbial straw for my sister, who’s been dealing with a couple of shit teenagers for the last few years and dealing with my parents while I have been living in relative safety several states away. To say I feel a bit of guilt is probably the understatement of the year.

3. The joys of a new jobs: Nothing makes a new boss happier than telling him a couple of weeks after you start that you have to leave for an extended period of time.  He was not psyched about it in the least and is now making me ‘pay’.  Funny thing about the new job, I actually have to work…. WTF is up with that?

I guess those are the big three that have been eating my time. It sucks, but sometimes life sucks…Nothing funny about it.

If anyone was wondering what happened to the crazy lady who took up residence in my house after three dates…. I very calmly and without making any startling movements told her that it was probably a good idea that we didn’t see each other again. Then I changed my locks and hid the knives. I did that before I had to leave so I was fairly certain that I would return to find my house burned to the ground or a giant dick spray painted on my garage door.  To my surprise, I returned to find the house still standing and the door dick free. Small victories.

So folks, life goes on.

Comments
  1. bschooled says:

    You’re lucky, mister. I was just about to call 48 Hours Mystery and give them your blog site, I thought you were being held captive in your basement while that chick entertained her friends upstairs.

    I’m sorry to hear about your mother, Rod. I hope things get better for her and your family.

    Now that I know you’re safe, I can go back to trolling Facebook sites!

    I did it anyway, but I always felt guilty, not knowing if you were safe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

